Mirabilis Member Years

There shall be initially 410 Mirabilis Members. Mirabilis is latin for miracle. The Mirabilis Members will each be unique in that they will adopt a year in the great American story.


General Benedict Arnold attempted to give up West Point on the Hudson to the British, but is foiled when the spy carrying the information was captured by Americans and the plot revealed.

American defeats at Charleston, SC, Camden SC, and Waxhaws. American victory at King’s Mountain, NC.

John Hancock becomes first American Governor of Massachusetts.


George Washington’s army of Continentals, militia, and French troops captured the army of General Charles, Lord Cornwallis after a twenty day siege of Yorktown, Virginia. The event marks the beginning of the end of the War for American Independence, which formally ceases two years later.


John Adams gets the Dutch to recognize the independence of the United States and establishes the first embassy.

U.S. Mint founded

Britain signs agreement recognizing the United States.


Treaty of Paris ends the War for American Independence.

George Washington pleads for an end to the Newburgh Conspiracy.

George Washington disbands the Continental Army.


U.S. Army established by Congress.

John Jay becomes first Secretary of State


Continental Congress convenes in New York City.


Commercially made ice cream sold for the first time in America, in New York City.

Shay’s Rebellion in Massachusetts


A constitutional convention of seven states convened in Philadelphia to modify the Articles of Confederation and ended up writing the Constitution of the United States.

The Northwest Ordinance was ratified and went in to effect, setting out the rules for the formation of new states. It also elucidated several important intentions of the founders. It is the signal success under the Articles of Confederation.


United States Constitution Ratified by the states.


George Washington takes the oath of office and assumes the unprecedented task of organizing the government under the Constitution.

George and Martha Washington move in to the executive mansion, the “Franklin House,” in New York City, the Capitol of the United States.